Grandma & A Letter from Heaven

May and June have been crazy for me for all the right and wrong reasons. I got engaged in May and on June 29 when I flew down for my sisters graduation. That weekend I flew down,  my grandmother passed away.  

Grandma Allen was special. She wasn’t related to me by blood but we shared connections in all the other ways. Grandma was the first person I met in America. She happened to be our neighbor across the street.  And throughout my 22 years in America she has been there each step of the way.

What hurt the most about her passing was that I didn’t get to say goodbye. I never got to tell her that I got engaged. See, I wanted to be the one to tell her face-to-face. I wanted to share the magic of the moment and how special that day was just like I had done time and time again with other trips. I never got the chance. 

After my sisters graduation and following her death, I returned to Florida the following week for her funeral. It was my first. As hurtful as her passing was for my family. I am happy knowing that she is in a better place. Free of pain. 

Grandma loved God and shared that love with us. She inspired us to do our best and be our best even when it seemed most difficult. I hope she’s looking down on me and proud of the woman I’m becoming.

Love you forever, 

Your granddaughter

P.S. I’ve been MIA for several reasons, this being one. Today, I stumbled on this piece below. It captured some of my emotions and I thought I’d share. 

http://wp.me/p6wrcf-2HW

2 thoughts on “Grandma & A Letter from Heaven

Leave a Reply

